Like us on Facebookface

OTEL

ORGANIZATION OF TEACHER EDUCATORS IN LITERACY -
WELCOME OTEL - SIG MEMBERS!

book
books
boy
 

OTEL, the Organization of Teacher Educators in Literacy, is a special interest group of the International Literacy Association (ILA). The purpose of the organization is to facilitate communication among its membership; provide a forum for debate and discussion of current issues regarding improvement of reading instruction; assist in the development of quality teacher education through recommendations for preservice and inservice program; stimulate research in reading, and disseminate information regarding significant investigations; seek improved competence at all levels of reading instruction; and arrange conferences which will further the objectives of the organization.

If your interests include reading and the teaching of reading, you are invited to join the Organization of Teachers Educators in Literacy (OTEL), a special interest group of the International Literacy Association (ILA). Memberships are available for both individuals and institutions. You must also be a member of the ILA to be a member of OTEL. As a member of OTEL, you will receive the Journal of Reading Education. The Journal is published three times per year (Fall, Winter and Spring). Click Membership Form below to join.

member

 

BOARD MEMBERS

President
Ayn Keneman, National-Louis University
akeneman@nl.edu

President-Elect
Rachael Waller, Montana State University
rachael.waller@msubillings.edu

Past President
Colleen Tano, Brigham Young University,
tanoc@byuh.edu

Treasurer
Karen Bates, Emporia State University,
kbates@emporia.edu

Secretary
Gwyn Senokossoff, Fl International
gsenokos@fiu.edu

Membership
Eric Rackley, Brigham Young
eric.rackley@byuh.edu

Delegates-at-Large
Eula Ewing Monroe, Brigham Young
Eula_Monroe@byu.edu

Deborah Setliff, Tennessee Tech University,
DSetliff@tntech.edu

Archivist
Joyce Fine, FL International
finej@fiu.edu

Parliamentarian
Irene Allen, Eastern Michigan University,
iallen@emich.edu

Editor of Journal of Reading Education
Janet Richards (Senior Editor),
University of South Florida,
jrichards@usf.edu

Lisa Adkins (Submissions Editor & Webmaster),
University of South Florida
lisaadkins@usf.edu

ILA Convention

OTEL Conference Session
July 19th, 3:00 - 5:00
(OTEL Social Meeting, place TBD)

International Reading Association

St. Louis, Missouri
July 17 - 20th, 2015

 

JOURNAL OF READING EDUCATION

JRE is the Journal of Reading Education, a refereed publication of the Organization of Teacher Educators in Literacy. The Journal is intended as a forum to reflect current theory, research, and practice. Articles of interest include:

  • improving professional practices in higher education
  • helping teachers improve their reading instruction
  • facilitating the administrative supervisory process
  • researching teaching practices in literacy

The Journal of Reading Education is funded in part by the members of OTEL and the Verizon Reads Endowment.

Contents of the JRE do not necessarily reflect or imply endorsement by OTEL, its officers, or its members.

The Journal of Reading Education is voting on a name change.
Stay Tuned